Workers' compensation is insurance coverage purchased by the employer/business that provides benefits for job-related employee injuries. In Florida, the Division of Workers' Compensation within the Department of Financial Services is the primary regulator for ensuring employees receive the proper benefits under this coverage, which includes benefits for medical expenses, disability or death.
What is the first thing I should do if I have a work accident?
Naturally, if you have suffered an accident, you need to do whatever is necessary to get any urgent care or emergency care you need as your first priority. With regard to the workers' compensation aspect, you need to report the accident timely to your employer. You should report the work-related accident as soon as possible but no later than 30 days from the date the accident occurred. If you fail to report your injury within 30 days, it may result in your claim being denied.
Once your injury has been reported, we can help guide you through the process of obtaining the benefits you deserve from your employer.
Does it matter if the accident was my fault?
Not usually. There are some uncommon, minor exceptions for intentional acts and outrageous horseplay and deviations, but for the most part, it is a no-fault system. You should report the accident, and, if care and/or benefits are denied, contact an attorney. We would be happy to speak to you about your case.
What kind of fees does Wilkerson Law Firm, P.A. charge for workers' compensation cases?
In claimant workers' compensation cases, any fee paid by our client is on a contingent basis, meaning it is based on a percentage of any recovery obtained, and there is no client-paid fee if there is no recovery.
Do you need a free consultation for your workers' compensation case?
Call us at 813-438-8708.
If you want a resource to read more about workers' compensation in Florida, you can visit: